New Year, New Council

Happy 2022! As the City welcomes a new year, we also welcome a new City Council which kicked off its first official meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 4.

Here’s a quick look at the seven members that comprise the Wilmington City Council:

Bill Saffo, Mayor Elected to Office: 2003, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2021
Number of Terms: 9
Councilmember 1
Mayor 7 (appointed 2007)
City Council Committees: Wilmington Regional Film Commission; Wilmington Business Development
Other Boards or Commissions: Lower Cape Fear Water and Sewer Authority; New Hanover County Tourism Development Authority
Margaret Haynes, Mayor Pro-Tem
Appointed by Council: Dec. 9, 2008
Sworn in: Jan. 6, 2009
Elected to Office: 2011, 2015,2019
Number of Terms: 3
City Council Committees: Evaluation Committee; Naming Facilities; Wilmington Downtown, Inc.; Governance Committee (Chair); Vision 2020 Plan Committee
Charles H. Rivenbark
Elected to Office: 1993, 1997, 2009, 2013, 2017, 2021
Number of Terms: 6
City Council Committees: Appointments to Boards, Commissions & Committees (Chair); Governance Committee; Council of Government
Naming Facilities Committee; Transportation Advisory Commission
Other Boards and Commissions: Cape Fear Public Utility Authority Board; Lower Cape Fear Water and Sewer Authority
Neil Anderson
Elected to Office: 2011, 2015, 2019
Number of Terms:  3
City Council Committees: Legion Stadium (Chair); Governance Committee; Transportation Advisory Commission; Appointments to Boards, Commissions & Committees; Ad Hoc Capital Improvements
Clifford Barnett, Sr.
Elected to Office: 2017, 2021
Number of Terms:  2
City Council Committees: Audit Committee (Chair); Lower Cape Fear River Program Advisory Committee; Evaluations Committee (Chair)
Naming Facilities Committee (Chair); Ad Hoc Capital Improvements
Kevin Spears Elected to Office: 2019
Number of Terms: 1
City Council Committees: Audit Committee; Bellamy Mansion; CFCC Board of Trustees Planning Committee; Legion Stadium Commission; Evaluation Committee
Luke Waddell
Elected to Office: 2021
Number of Terms: 1
City Council Committees: Vision 2020 Plan Committee (Chair); NHC Port, Waterway & Beach Commission; Appointments to Boards, Commissions & Committees; Audit Committee; Ad Hoc Capital Improvements

Wilmington residents, your opinions matter and you can speak up by reaching out directly to City Council. If you have any comments, questions, or concerns, send an email to

%d bloggers like this: